News Published 8 February 2011

The Oliviers 2011: Nominations Announced

After the Dance and Love Never Dies top the pile.

Rosanna Hall

On Monday 7th February, the nominations for the 2011 Olivier Awards were announced.

The awards aim to highlight 2010’s key theatrical moments and are part of a tradition spanning back a third of a century. They represent London’s continuing passion for theatre, which, despite gloomy economic times, has this year attracted increased ticket sales and a record number of performances. Thea Sharrock’s After the Dance at the National and Andrew Lloyd Webber’s Phanton sequel Love Never Dies have the highest number of nominations. Collectively the National has the highest number of nominations with 17, followed by the Donmar Warehouse and the Royal Court.

Nominations in the main categories include:

Best Actress: Tracie Bennett for End of the Rainbow, Nancy Carroll for After the Dance, Tamsin Greig for The Little Dog Laughed and Sophie Thompson for Clybourne Park.

Best Actor: Roger Allam for Henry IV Parts 1and 2, Derek Jacobi for King Lear, Rory Kinnear for Hamlet, Mark Rylance for La Bete and David Suchet for All My Sons.

Best New Musical: Fela!, Legally Blonde- The Musical, Love Never Dies and Love Story

Best Director: Dominic Cooke for Clybourne Park, Howard Davies for The White Guard, Michael Grandage for King Lear and Thea Sharrock for After the Dance.

Mastercard Best New Play: Clybourne Park by Bruce Norris, End of the Rainbow by Peter Quilter, Sucker Punch by Roy Williams, The Little Dog Laughed by Douglas Carter Beane and Tribes by Nina Raine.

Best Actress in a Musical: Sierra Boggess for Love Never Dies, Elena Roger for Passion, Sheridan Smith for Legally Blonde- The Musical, and Emma Williams for Love Story.

Best Actor in a Musical: Alex Gaumond for Legally Blonde- The Musical, Ramin Karimloo for Lover Never Dies, Sahr Ngaujah for Fela! And Michael Xavier for Love Story.

This year brings back the Radio 2 Audience Award (now the BBC Radio 2 Olivier Audience Award) allowing members of the public to participate by electing their favourite long-running production. The ceremony will take place on Sunday 13th March 2011, at London’s Theatre Royal at Drury Lane with the BBC concert Orchestra.


Rosanna Hall is a contributor to Exeunt Magazine



Enter your email address below to get an occasional email with Exeunt updates and featured articles.